• New Cook County Ordinances

  • Attend the BDC Presentation on Thurs, Aug 3 from 11AM-3PM

    2017 has ushered in new and complex leave laws, including the Cook County Minimum Wage Ordinance, Cook County Earned Sick Leave Ordinance and Illinois Child Bereavement Leave Law. The BDC invites you to a lunch presentation to help you navigate the waters of the complex changes in 2017.

    Registration is required. Click here to learn more and Register Now.

  • Cook County Minimum Wage Ordinance

    Effective July 1, 2017, the Cook County Minimum Wage ordinance will increase the minimum wage for nontipped employees in Cook County to $10.00 per hour. The minimum wage rate for tipped employees in Cook County is tied to the minimum wage rate for tipped employees in the state of Illinois. Currently, the minimum wage rate for tipped employees in Illinois is $4.95 per hour.

    Click here for more information on ordinance rules and regulations as well as mandatory workplace posters.

  • Cook County Earned Sick Leave Ordinance

    Effective July 1, 2017, the Cook County Earned Sick Leave ordinance establishes a right to paid sick leave for employees in Cook County. Employers will be required to offer up to five days of paid sick leave per year to their employees. 

    Click here for more information on ordinance rules and regulations as well as mandatory workplace posters.

  • BDC Press Release on Ordinances

    Click here to read.

  • Featured Members