• Business Awards

  • 2022 George W. Ashby Award Recipient

    Award for Business Excellence

  • The George W. Ashby Award for Business Excellence is a local honor named after one of Berwyn’s distinguished early architects. This award celebrates Berwyn's "Business of the Year" and its exceptional business enterprise. Mr. Ashby was responsible for the design of every grade school in Berwyn as well as J. Sterling Morton High School. The award is given annually to one Berwyn-based business that presents a professional and favorable image to Berwyn, provides quality goods or services, maintains a visually appealing space, and practices high-quality customer service to its patrons.

    We are pleased to announce Berwyn's Violet Shop as the 2022 winner! They were honored in a live stream broadcasted on Thursday, January 13, 2022. 

  • Past Winners Past Winners

    2010 Olive or Twist Restaurant & Martini Bar

    2011 James & Williams Jewelers 

    2012 Paisans Pizzeria & Bar

    2013 Autre Monde Café & Spirits

    2014 World’s Largest Laundromat 

    2015 Big Guys Sausage Stand 

    2017 Vesecky’s Bakery 

    2018 Culver’s 

    2019 The James Joyce Irish Pub 

    2020 MacNeal Hospital 

    2021 Dan's Bike Shop

    2022 Berwyn’s Violets Flower Shop


  • 2022 Charles E. Piper AWARD RECIPIENT


  • The Charles E. Piper Award is awarded annually to those individuals selected for recognition of their business achievements and/or their contribution to the economic vitality of the city of Berwyn. This award celebrates Berwyn's "Business Person of the Year" and their exceptional contribution of time, talent, and treasures to the betterment of Berwyn. Charles Piper can be best described as resilient, visionary, and dynamic. As Berwyn's first citizen, Mr. Piper's work in developing present-day Berwyn began in the 1890's. Against the odds and using his own private funds, he was able to build the hub of Berwyn, the Berwyn train station' assisted with the high quality and stringent building standards which produced our city of homes; and laid out a land plan which produced multiple business corridors and diversified the city's tax base.

    We are pleased to announce Peggy Rose Kwiatek as the 2022 winner! They were honored on a live stream broadcast on Tuesday, January 13, 2021. 

  • Past Winners Past Winners

    1985   Frank R. Kasper
    1986   Robert L. Anderson, Jr.
    1987   Renato Turano
    1988   James W. Reilly
    1989   Paul Dinolfo
    1990   Thomas G. Shaughnessy
    1991   Jack R. Kubik
    1992   Vlasta Sneberger
    1993   Edward A. Karasek

    1994   Kenneth E. Cechura
    1995   Joseph J. Pav
    1996   George Lykouretzos
    1997   Richard Romani
    1998   William J. Hlavacek, Sr.
    1999   Roger C. Forcash
    2000   Lawrence D. Bell
    2001   Stanley D. Loula
    2002   Robert Jacklin, Sr.

    2003   Jon Fey
    2004   Randy Womack
    2005   Alba Lovero
    2006   Tom Benson
    2007   Dorothy Chiero
    2008   William Hlavacek, Jr.
    2009   Scott Lennon
    2010   Michelle Bednarz

    2011   Aimee Sordelli
    2012   Robert J. Lovero
    2013   Marlene Comella
    2014   Jousef Mondragon
    2015   Nora Laureto
    2017   John Aranza
    2018   Edward Garcia
    2019   Ann Mackin
    2020  Sandra Figatner, Donna Greenwald and Lynn White
    2022   Peggy Rose Kwiatek